Tags

, , , ,

But at the cellular level I’m quite busy.

I thought I might say a few words about the title I chose for this site. Cellula e cellula comes from a longer Latin phrase coined by Francois-Vincent Raspail, “Omnis cellula e cellula.” (Systems Biology: Philosophical Foundations, JHS Hofmeyr, pg 223) This translates to “all cells from cells” and is a central tenant of the cell theory of life. I’ll be honest, part of the reason I chose this for the title is because I love Latin phrases. There is something about a sentence in Latin that gets my brain-loins a tinglin’.

Another reason though is that this particular phrase corresponds to one of my favorite parts of the cell theory – that all cells come from previously existing cells. Now this immediately draws my mind to a question that many people have: if all cells must come from other cells, where did the first cells come from? Cue evolution. Evolutionary biology is one of my favorite fields of biology; I once had dreams of attending graduate school and eventually becoming an evolutionary biologist. (Maybe I still will someday, the night is young.) I’ll be honest and say that I’m not even super familiar with what current science has to say about this question other than what is in my general biology textbook. But! The important part is that this key piece of cell theory very succinctly links all life together and I find this very powerful.

I have always been in love with the natural world, particularly the living critters that inhabit it. Natural places have always held a special place in my heart, even before I knew anything about the evolution of life on Earth. And when I finally did learn about it and really began to consider it’s implications, it began to make sense why I enjoyed being outdoors so much and why I cared so much about the fate of our natural treasures. We’re all connected, going back to the  very first primordial life. Ultimately, at the molecular level I am not that much different from my cat. And I find that beautiful.

https://i.chzbgr.com/maxW500/6703287296/hA45F8AB2/

 

